reviews i write, thoughts i have…


The Rivers Run Dry
April 7, 2009, 11:25 pm
Filed under: Fiction review, Thomas Nelson Reviews

the-riversThe Rivers Run Dry by Sibella Giorello

Forensic geologist Raleigh Harmon discovers that the Pacific Northwest is filled with beauty, danger, and mystery.

When Raleigh Harmon, geologist and special agent for the FBI, is suddenly transferred from the Richmond field office to Seattle, she finds herself in strange territory. The Pacific Northwest has a whole different pace than the South does, her new boss seems determined to prove she can’t handle the work, and she’s desperately trying to keep her mother’s sanity from crumbling altogether. But a missing hiker, a ransom note, an underground card game, and a “friend” with deadly intentions all ensure that there’s no time for an easy transition. Raleigh will need all her skills and a little help—to keep the missing girl and herself alive.

 

 

This is my first fiction book review for Thomas Nelson. I’m really happy to share it with you guys.

I enjoyed Sibella Giorello’s writing. She’s descriptive, but also is discerning with just how much she descibes. The Rivers Run Dry is the 2nd book about this character (Raleigh Harmon) by this author. Though it’s not exclusively part of a series, it would have helped me to have read the previous Raleigh Harmon book, The Stones Cry Out before starting this book. I was introduced to the characters pretty abruptly for not having met them before, but it would not have been a problem had I already known the people I was reading about.

Raleigh is a smart FBI agent, but she’s not a hardened “tough” heroine. Giorello made her personable and likable without the character’s edge being lost. This is a great Mystery/ Suspense novel,  I thought it might turn out one way and then the author completely blew my theory out of the water! Several different plots and scenarios made it hard for me to follow the storyline at first, but once i got fully into the story, it was no longer a hindrance to my reading.  I’m finding out that the more and more I read books of this genre the more I like it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

